Juice Pulp Muffins

IMG_4971

Do you love to juice? If so, you probably have a ton of extra pulp that is left over. If you’re like me, wasting this or throwing this pulp out is not an option. So, I did some research looking for that perfect recipe to use with my pulp–it was hard to find. But with some experimenting, I think this is it! And the best part, no matter what your juice pulp is, it works! I find it is the tastiest when you have pulp with carrots and apples, but really anything works well!

*I usually make my juice, put the pulp into a plastic bag and then freeze it until I want to make muffins. Then just defrost your pulp and you’re set to go!

Makes: 12-16 muffins (depending on how large you want them) I make 12 and fill each tin all the way to the top.

Ingredients: 

2 cups flour (whole wheat, white or a mix of both)

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup applesauce

1/4 cup water

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking soda

4 medium to large eggs

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups pulp

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place 12 cupcake liners in a cupcake tin. Mix the flour, olive oil, applesauce, water, salt, baking soda, eggs and sugar in a bowl. I always use my hand mixer, but whatever you use, just make sure it mixes everything up really well. Next, stir in the cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and pulp until thoroughly mixed in. Put the mixture into the muffin tin and cook for about 20-25 minutes. Put a knife or a toothpick into the center of the muffin to test if it’s done. Let cool 10-15 minutes, eat plain or add some peanut butter (yum) and ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Juice Pulp Muffins

Leave a Reply

