DIY Laundry Detergent

IMG_2525

I don’t know about you…but in this house, it seemed like we were going through laundry detergent at a rapid rate. So I started researching detergents and realized just how much junk is in them and how much money we were spending on detergent each month. It was crazy! So I set out to make my own detergent and see how it compared to store-bought detergent. I found this DIY detergent is SO SO cheap (like pennies per load), is simple to make, cleans our clothes just as well, if not better, than store-bought detergent, is environmentally friendly, lacks all of the junk that all of the other detergents has (and you know exactly what it consists of) and makes you feel like you’re doing something proactive for your family. So here it is…give it a try; I have a feeling you won’t look back!

What you need to buy:

  • 3 pack of Kirk’s castile soap
  • 1 box of Arm and Hammer Super Washing Soda (3 lbs 7 oz)
  • 1 box of Borax (4 lb)
  • 1 box of Arm and Hammer Baking Soda (4 lb)
  • 1 3 gallon bucket

Directions: Grate the soap into a bucket with a cheese grater. Empty everything else into the bucket and mix it all together! Use 2 tablespoons of detergent per large load of laundry.

*You can always add essential oil to your detergent to make it smell good too. I like the simplicity of this recipe and haven’t tried adding essential oil yet, but I bet it smells phenomenal.

4 thoughts on “DIY Laundry Detergent

  1. Is it ok on colored clothes since it has alot of baking soda I thought it would wash the color out of the clothes. I just made my first batch and added to my front loader washer. I hadn’t used powdered detergent yet on this machine so didn’t know how to add it thingy where you put the detergents. I don’t know what they’re called. I kept checking to see if the soap was transferred to the wash and it wasn’t. Never had problems with liquid. Anyway . Thanks for the post.

    • I use it on my colored clothes all the time without any problems at all! I have a front loader too. For my specific washer, I pull out the drawer and use the area with the picture of the powder :/ Mine washer is self-explanatory I guess haha.

  2. I have to try this! My husband has really sensitive skin and I use fragrance free detergent that I get from Whole Foods. Do you think this would be irritant free?

    • I would think so…but I can’t be certain. You could always give it a try and if it bothers him, put the detergent in pretty glass jars, add a tag and give it away for the holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

