Thanksgiving Stuffing

15247701903_7e437ff1c2_oI don’t know about you, but for me, the stuffing is key in our Thanksgiving feast. My grandma made the best, seriously, the BEST stuffing. As a kid, I remember the adults swooning over her stuffing and all of us kids practically choking with the thought of having it on the table. But I also remember the Thanksgiving it all changed and I ate so much stuffing I didn’t know if I was going to recover. And then we ate it for days afterwards and each time it was better and better. I know I might be biased and I think stuffing is one of those things that your family recipe beats out all others, but I thought I’d share my grandma’s recipe with all of you. Just in case you’re on the lookout for a new way to make your family swoon. My grandma passed away years ago, but every time I smell this stuffing being cooked, it brings her right back into the room with a smile on her face, a soft hand in mine and a happy heart.

Ingredients:

3 onions

small bunch of celery with leaves (chop fine)

4 eggs

2 14oz packages of Jimmy Dean sausage

1/4lb. butter

1 tablespoon poultry seasoning

2 loaves of bread (opened-let sit overnight)

1 cup chicken bouillon

 

Directions: Melt butter in pan and then cook celery and onions. Add some water until soft. Scramble in 4 eggs and cook. Fry pork sausage and drain then add sausage to celery mixture. Switch to 8×12 dishes. Now add in chopped up bread and add chicken bouillon to moisten and then add poultry seasoning and mix with hands. Heat at 350 for 1/2 hour to 45 minutes or until hot throughout. This is always done the day before and then on the day of, just heat up until is is cooked thoroughly through.

(As I said, this recipe is my grandmas and there is always some adding extra/salting/sprinkling/water—who knows what amounts being added and subtracted. This is a general recipe and ingredients are definitely all here πŸ™‚ My grandma never ate her own stuffing on Thanksgiving because she ate so much as she made it, testing the flavors and making sure it was just right. Feel free to do the same—but keep a little room for the day of…it’s totally worth it!

Enjoy and Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

